Find my route Find my route

De Huy à Liège (stage 4)

On the Meuse RAVeL and connecting cycle paths

Expert
Expert
Length (in km)
39,5 km

As you leave the old fortified city of Huy, the cooling towers of the Tihange nuclear power plant stand before you. After a few kilometres along the RAVeL on the right bank of the Meuse, you will see on your left the towers of Amay collegiate church dating from the 7th century. Liège, the city of the prince-bishops, appears before you with the prestigious Val Saint Lambert site just as you enter.

It consists of the castle and its old Cistercian abbey built during the 13th century. You have the opportunity to visit the famous Val Saint Lambert glassworks which boasts a long and internationally renowned industrial past. Liège, known as the Cité Ardente reflecting its warm, welcoming and lively atmosphere, reveals its industrial, architectural and cultural heritage to you. Its museums, its folklore, the warmth of local people and its districts bustling with activity both day and night make this an unmissable stage along your route.

Details

The route:
You cross Huy along a well signposted connecting stretch on municipal roads. You reach the RAVeL running along its own path on the right bank of the Meuse at the foot of the chimneys of the Tihange nuclear power plant.
At Engis bridge, you leave the Meuse RAVeL and follow a connecting link for four kilometres along municipal roads through Ramioul and Ivoz-Ramet. In Ivoz-Ramet, at the foot of the lock and the dam bridge, on the right bank of the Meuse, you join the RAVeL on its own path again for a few kilometres as far as the entrance to Seraing.
Having crossed Seraing along the new urban boulevard, you have to cross the bridge from the right bank to the left bank of the Meuse. As you come off the bridge, follow the signs on local roads towards Liège and the districts of Tilleur and Sclessin.
As you leave Sclessin, in the place called Val-Benoît, at the cable-stayed motorway bridge across the Meuse, take the footbridge alongside the railway line to reach the right bank of the Meuse.
You enter Liège, at the confluence of the Ourthe and the Meuse, via the RAVeL on the right bank of the Meuse. When you go through the Parc de la Boverie, if you wish you can go across a cycle-footbridge over the Meuse to the monumental Liège-Guillemins railway station designed by the Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. Note, however, that the Meuse cycling route continues through the Parc de la Boverie on the right bank of the Meuse. You then go past the Finance Tower on your left and the Palais des Congrès conference centre on your right. The stage ends at the bottom of the footbridge which connects directly with the city centre.

Surface: 
Mostly smooth. Alternately asphalt and concrete.

Height difference: 
Flat.

Signs: 
Specific ‘The Meuse by bike’ directional signs are in place along the entire stage. This is very useful, especially when crossing Seraing and on the sections on local roads between Engis bridge and Ivoz-Ramet, and between Seraing and the entrance to Liège.

Safety, precautions: 
Between Engis bridge and the entrance to Liège, the route mostly follows local roads where the traffic is light to moderate and not particularly fast, but which do not have any cycle paths (± 12 kilometres on shared roads).

Connections:

  • Stage shared with the EuroVelo 3 and W6 regional routes. At the Quai du Condroz on the approach to Liège, in Angleur, along the Ourthe, the EV3 and W6 regional routes turn off and go along the Ourthe RAVeL in the direction of Herve and Aachen (D) in the case of the EV3 and Chaudfontaine in that of the W6.
  • Again at Quai du Condroz, you can join the W7 regional route and the W2 regional route. If you go along the Ourthe RAVeL following the W7 and W2 routes, you head towards Esneux and Durbuy along the W7 and towards Herve and Aachen (D) along the W2.
  • In the Parc de la Boverie in Liège, you can turn onto the W2 regional route. If you cross the cycle-footbridge over the Meuse, you head towards Waremme and Brussels.
  • In Jemeppe-sur-Meuse, which lies opposite Seraing, you can join the RAVeL of Lines 212 and 210 towards Montegnée and Ans.
     
Warnings
Useful info

Start:

Baudouin bridge on the right bank in Huy.

Lambert 72 coordinates: X: 211676 m - Y: 134679 m

GPS coordinates: Latitude: 50°31'10.65"N - Longitude: 5°14'18.50"E

Access by train: Huy Belgian railway station.

Parking possible near the starting point.
 
 

Rest area: 
Parc de la Boverie in Liège.

Guides/maps:

  • RAVeL map of the Province of Liège published by the SPW. This map, called ‘More RAVeL, more pleasure’, can be ordered free of charge by clicking here.
Stage map
frisepicto

Trouver mon parcours Trouver mon parcours

De Huy à Liège (étape 4)

Sur le RAVeL et les liaisons cyclables de Meuse

Expert
Expert
Longueur (en km)
39 km

En sortant de l’ancienne cité fortifiée de Huy, se dressent devant vous les tours de refroidissement de la centrale nucléaire de Tihange. Après quelques kilomètres sur le RAVeL en rive droite de  Meuse, vous apercevez à votre gauche les tours de la Collégiale d’Amay datant du 7ème siècle. Liège, la métropole des Princes-Evêques, se présente ensuite à vous avec, dès son entrée, le prestigieux site du Val-Saint Lambert.

Il se compose du Château et de son Abbaye cistercienne érigés dans le courant du XIIIème siècle. Riche d’un long passé industriel internationalement reconnu, vous avez l’occasion de visiter la célèbre Cristallerie du Val Saint-Lambert. La Cité ardente, tout au long de la Meuse, déroule devant vos yeux son patrimoine industriel, architectural et culturel. Ses musées, son folklore, la chaleur de ses habitants et ses quartiers animés, de jour comme de nuit, en font une étape incontournable de cet itinéraire.

Détails

L’itinéraire :

La traversée de Huy se fait via un chaînon de liaison bien signalé sur voiries communales. Vous retrouvez le RAVeL en site propre en rive droite de Meuse au pied des cheminées de la centrale  nucléaire de Tihange.

A Ombret, vous quittez le RAVeL de Meuse pour emprunter un chaînon de liaison de 11,7 km sur voiries régionales et communales qui vous fera passer par Hermalle-Sous-Huy, Ramioul et Yvoz-Ramet. A Ivoz-Ramet, au pied de l’écluse et du pont barrage, en rive droite de La Meuse, vous retrouvez le RAVeL en site propre durant quelques kilomètres jusqu’à l’entrée de Seraing.

Après avoir traversé Seraing par son nouveau boulevard urbain, il faut passer de la rive droite de La Meuse à la rive gauche en empruntant le pont. A la sortie du pont, suivre la signalisation sur routes locales en direction de Liège et des quartiers de Tilleur et Sclessin.

A la sortie de Sclessin, au lieu-dit Val-Benoît, à hauteur du pont autoroutier haubané sur la Meuse, il faut emprunter la passerelle du pont du chemin de fer pour rejoindre la rive droite de La Meuse.

L’entrée dans Liège, au confluent de l’Ourthe et de la Meuse, se fera via le RAVeL en rive droite de Meuse. Lorsque vous  traversez le Parc de la Boverie, une passerelle cyclo-piétonne vous offre la possibilité de franchir la Meuse et d’atteindre en quelques minutes la gare monumentale de Liège-Guillemins, signée par l’architecte espagnol Santiago Calatrava. Sachez cependant que la véloroute de La Meuse se poursuit à travers le Parc de la Boverie sur la rive droite de La Meuse. Vous passez ensuite devant la Tour des Finances à votre gauche et le Palais des Congrès à votre droite. L’étape se termine au pied de la Passerelle, directement connectée au centre-ville.

 

Revêtement : majoritairement lisse. Alternance d’asphalte et de béton.

 

Dénivelé : pente nulle.

 

Signalisation : l’ensemble de l’étape est pourvue d’une signalisation directionnelle spécifique « La Meuse à vélo », bien utile, notamment pour la traversée de Seraing et les tronçons sur voiries locales entre Ombret et Ivoz-Ramet et entre Seraing et l’entrée de Liège.

 

Sécurité, précautions : entre Ombret et l’entrée de Liège, l’itinéraire est majoritairement sur des voiries locales, à trafic et vitesse faibles à modérés, dépourvues de tout aménagement cyclable (± 20 km sur voiries partagées).

 

Connexions :

  • Etape commune avec les itinéraires Eurovelo3 et régional W6. Au Quai du Condroz à l’entrée de Liège à Angleur, le long de l’Ourthe, les itinéraires EV3 et régional W6 bifurquent et remontent le RAVeL de l’Ourthe, en direction de Herve et Aachen (D) pour l’EV3, et Chaudfontaine pour le W6.
  • Toujours au Quai du Condroz, vous vous connectez à l’itinéraire régional W7 et l'itinéraire W2. Si vous remontez le RAVeL de l’Ourthe en suivant l’itinéraire W7 et le W2, vous prenez la direction d’Esneux et Durbuy pour l’itinéraire W7, et la direction d’Herve et Aachen (D) pour l’itinéraire W2.
  • Dans le Parc de la Boverie à Liège, vous pouvez aussi bifurquer vers  l'itinéraire W2.  Si vous empruntez la passerelle cyclo-piétonne sur La Meuse, vous vous dirigez en effet vers Waremme et Bruxelles.
  • A Jemeppe-sur-Meuse, qui fait face à Seraing, vous pouvez vous connecter au RAVeL des Lignes 212 et 210 vers Montegnée et Ans.
Infos pratiques

Point de départ :

Pont Baudouin en rive droite à Huy.

Coordonnées Lambert 72 : X : 211676 m - Y : 134679 m

Coordonnées GPS : Latitude : 50°31'10.65"N - Longitude : 5°14'18.50"E

Accès en Train : Gare SNCB de Huy.

Stationnement voiture possible à proximité du point de départ.

 

Aire de repos : Parc de la Boverie à Liège.

 

Guides / cartes : carte RAVeL de la Province de Liège éditée par le SPW. Cette carte, dénommée « Plus de RAVeL, plus de plaisir », peut être commandée gratuitement en cliquant ici.

Carte de l'étape
Galerie de photos

photo diverses

Toutes les photos

Préparer son voyage
frisepicto