Find my route Find my route

EuroVelo 5

Expert
Expert
Length (in km)
305 km

Via Romea Francigena

The EuroVelo 5 route takes you to explore the wealth of the natural, architectural, cultural and brewing heritage of Belgium.
Having left Lille, known as the ‘capital of Flanders’ in France, you follow the rural greenway along  the Roubaix canal to enter Belgium. Passing by small locks and drawbridges, accompanied by the lapping water, you will wind your way, sometimes in Wallonia, sometimes in Flanders, along the Espierres canal and then the Scheldt river.
 

When you reach Avelgem, you cross the river towards the Pays des Collines nature reserve and the Flemish Ardennes. This is a hilly region. The RAVeL, as greenways are known in Wallonia, set out along the old No 83 and No 87 railway lines, leads you successively to Renaix/Ronse and Lessines, two towns that are proud of their Flemish Renaissance style heritage.
You then follow the Dendre river to the historic centre of Grammont/Geraardsbergen, a major point along the route of the famous Tour of Flanders cycle race. You join the nodal-points network (knooppunten) in Flanders and the LF6-Vlaanderen Fietsroute cycling route which guides you to the south of Brussels. The route leads you through the picturesque villages of the Pajottenland, a region famous for its local fruity beers. After savouring one of these in the Grote Markt in Halle, you head towards the Senne valley, where you are enveloped in a special atmosphere that persists to the centre of the Capital of Europe. In Brussels, you go past all the familiar monuments, from the Grand-Place to the European Parliament.
You leave the city to the south, going through the majestic Sonian Forest. Following the minor roads of Brabant, lined with typical villas, you reach Wavre and the Hesbaye region, the breadbasket of this beautiful region. The Line 142 RAVeL then takes you along a gentle incline to Namur, the capital of Wallonia. Its historic centre and art of good living captivate a few more visitors every year.
The route continues along the Upper Meuse RAVeL, which boasts superb settings such as the famous cliffs and gardens of Freyr castle or the Dinant Citadel. You then make for the country roads of the Condroz plateau, where you pass through authentic villages with limestone dwellings.  Having crossed Ciney, a centre of cattle breeding, you reach Marche, the lively heart of the Pays de Famenne region. Upon leaving the town, you take the RAVeL towards Hotton to reach the valley of the Ourthe river that winds wildly back and forth. 
From La Roche-en-Ardenne, you go off to explore a multitude of landscapes, both grandiose and surprising. As you pass through the bewitching valleys of the Ry de Bronze, the western Ourthe and the Laval, pretty Ardennes villages and magnificent panoramic views will brighten your route, which runs mainly along very quiet roads. You climb slowly towards Bastogne, a Belgian city well known in the USA, because this is where a handful of GIs withstood the German offensive in the winter of 1944.
After this, a connecting route along quiet roads takes you to the greenway on the old local line No 618. You pass through the idyllic settings of the Strange and the Sûre valleys to end your journey in Martelange. You may then decide to continue towards Redange, Arlon and Luxembourg city on the cycling routes network of the Grand Duchy.

Interactive Route Map
 

Image de l'itinéraire

Deuxième image de l'itinéraire

Route Stages : EuroVelo 5 9

De Roubaix (F) à Renaix/Ronse (stage 1)
On the RAVeL of the Espierres canal, the Scheldt and Line 83

Having left Lille, the capital of French Flanders, you follow the greenway along the Roubaix canal, which becomes the Espierres canal RAVeL when you enter Wallonia at the Leers-Nord lock (Estaimpuis). Here you can enjoy refreshments at the Maison du Canal coffee shop. This quiet café in an old lock house offers a range of regional beers.
 

Family
Family
Length (in km)
32,5 km
De Renaix/Ronse à Grammont/Geraardsbergen (stage 2)
On the RAVeL of Line 87 and the Dendre

Starting from Renaix/Ronse, a town set within one of the hilliest regions of Flanders, known for that matter as the Flemish Ardennes, you follow the RAVeL virtually from one end to the other along this stage.

You enter Wallonia on the old No 87 railway line, converted into a greenway, and penetrate deep into the Pays des Collines region.

Family
Family
Length (in km)
28 km
De La Hulpe à Wavre (stage 3)
From La Hulpe to Wavre

You leave Brussels to the south towards Wallonia and the Ardennes. Here you can experience the Brabant atmosphere, with its typical villas. The urban setting soon makes way for a more peaceful environment, such as the Sonian Forest, the Solvay regional estate and the Château de La Hulpe park.

Expert
Expert
Length (in km)
18.5 km
De Wavre à Namur (stage 4)
From Wavre to Namur

Starting from Wavre, the capital of Walloon Brabant, this stage takes you along the small rural roads of the Hesbaye plateau. Here you are in the breadbasket of this beautiful region, alternating between opulent fields of wheat and beetroot. You will discover vast areas of open countryside dotted with quiet villages and imposing farms that radiate character.

Medium
Medium
Length (in km)
51 km
De Namur à Dinant (stage 5)
On the Meuse RAVeL

As you leave Namur, you are enveloped by the relaxing atmosphere of the Meuse RAVeL. You pass through the village of Wépion, recognised the world over for its strawberries. You gradually enter the most beautiful part of the Meuse valley with its many cliffs and superb sites such as the famous Annevoie gardens.

Family
Family
Length (in km)
27 km
De Dinant à Marche-en-Famenne (stage 6)
On the minor roads of the Condroz and the Famenne regions

In the Meuse valley, the path follows a gentle incline for about 10 km alongside the charming Fonds de Leffe nature reserve between steep rocky hillsides. You head towards the Condroz plateau along quiet little roads.
 

Medium
Medium
Length (in km)
48,5 km
De Marche-en-Famenne à La-Roche-en-Ardenne (stage 7)
From Marche-en-Famenne to La-Roche-en-Ardenne

You head towards Hotton along the RAVeL and leave behind you Marche-en-Famenne, a dynamic town that is the economic centre of the Province of Luxembourg. When you reach Hotton, a small town with undeniable tourist attractions, you can go underground to explore the caves, awarded two stars in the Michelin guide.

Medium
Medium
Length (in km)
28 km
De La Roche-en-Ardenne à Bastogne (stage 8)
From La-Roche-en-Ardenne to Bastogne (stage 8)

With a last look back at the mysterious La Roche, you head off through steep-sided valleys and wooded hills towards Erneuville and its vast grassy plateaux. You follow a pleasant route with a gentle slope along the delightful Ry de Bronze. You cross a multitude of picturesque villages with charming names such as Grainchamps, Tresfontaines, Wyompont, Ortheuville, Lavacherie or Amberloup. Sometimes perched on Ardennes ridges, sometimes nestling at the bottom of the western Ourthe valley, you will love these quiet, rustic places.

Medium
Medium
Length (in km)
46 km
De Bastogne à Martelange (stage 9)
On the pre-RAVeL of Lines 163 and 618

This stage takes you through many villages in the Pays de Bastogne region and the idyllic valleys of the Strange and the Sûre rivers set largely in a Natura 2000 protected area. You follow two sections of the old 163 and 618 railway lines, now laid out as pre-RAVeL paths, which once linked Bastogne to Libramont on the one hand and Bastogne to Martelange, at the gates of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, on the other.

Medium
Medium
Length (in km)
26 km
frisepicto

Trouver mon parcours Trouver mon parcours

EuroVelo 5

Expert
Expert
Longueur (en km)
314 km

Via Romea Francigena

L’itinéraire EuroVelo 5 vous emmène à la découverte des multiples richesses du patrimoine naturel, architectural, culturel et brassicole de la Belgique.

Après avoir quitté Lille, surnommée la « Capitale des Flandres » en France, vous suivez la bucolique voie verte du Canal de Roubaix pour entrer sur le territoire belge. Au gré des petites écluses, des ponts levis et du clapotis de l’eau, vous serpentez tantôt en Wallonie, tantôt en Flandre, en longeant le Canal de l’Espierre, puis l’Escaut.

A hauteur d’Avelgem, vous franchissez le fleuve en direction du Parc Naturel du Pays des Collines et des Ardennes flamandes. Bien que vous vous trouviez dans une région vallonnée, le RAVeL, appellation wallonne des voies vertes, aménagé sur les anciennes lignes de chemin de fer 83 et 87, vous achemine successivement à Renaix/Ronse et Lessines, deux villes fières de leur patrimoine de style Renaissance flamande.

Vous suivez ensuite le cours de la Dendre jusqu’au centre historique de Grammont/Geraardsbergen, haut lieu du célèbre Tour des Flandres cycliste. Vous vous connectez au fameux réseau à points-nœuds/Knooppunten de Flandre et à la route cyclable LF6-Vlaanderen Fietsroute qui vous guide jusqu'au Sud de Bruxelles. La route vous emmène à travers les villages pittoresques du Pajottenland, région célèbre pour ses bières locales fruitées. Après une dégustation sur la Grote Markt de Halle, vous prenez la direction de la Vallée de la Senne, où l’atmosphère particulière vous envoûte jusqu’au centre de la Capitale de l’Europe. A Bruxelles, vous passez par tous les monuments bien connus, de la Grand Place au Parlement européen.

Vous quittez la métropole par le Sud, en passant par la majestueuse Forêt de Soignes. Sur les petites routes brabançonnes, bordées de villas typiques, vous gagnez Wavre et la Hesbaye, véritable grenier céréalier de notre belle région. Le RAVeL de la Ligne 142 vous mène ensuite en pente douce jusque Namur, capitale de la Wallonie. Son centre historique et son art de bien vivre séduisent chaque année un peu plus de visiteurs.

L’itinéraire se poursuit le long du RAVeL de la Haute Meuse, qui vous propose des cadres somptueux, comme ceux des célèbres falaises et jardins du château de Freyr ou de la Citadelle de Dinant. Cap sur les routes de campagne du plateau du Condroz, dont vous traversez les villages authentiques constitués d’un habitat en pierres calcaires.  Après être passé par Ciney, haut lieu de l’élevage bovin, vous arrivez à Marche, cœur animé du Pays de Famenne. A la sortie de la Ville, vous prenez le RAVeL vers Hotton pour rejoindre la vallée de l’Ourthe et ses méandres sauvages.

A partir de La Roche-en-Ardenne, vous partez à la découverte d’une multitude de paysages à la fois grandioses et surprenants. Au gré des vallées enchanteresses du Ry de Bronze, de l’Ourthe occidentale et du Laval, de jolis villages ardennais et de magnifiques vues panoramiques égayeront votre parcours, qui emprunte la plupart du temps des routes à très faible trafic. Vous grimpez lentement en direction de Bastogne, ville belge bien connue aux USA, puisqu’ici ont résistés une poignée de G.I. à l’offensive allemande de l’hiver ’44.

Au-delà, un itinéraire de liaison sur voiries calmes permet de rejoindre la voie verte de l’ancienne ligne vicinale 618. Vous traversez les cadres idylliques des vallées de la Strange et de la Sûre pour terminer votre périple à Martelange. Vous déciderez peut-être alors de poursuivre votre route en direction de Redange et Luxembourg-ville sur le réseau des pistes cyclables grand-ducales.

Carte interactive de l'itinéraire
 

Image de l'itinéraire

Deuxième image de l'itinéraire

Les étapes de l'itinéraire : EuroVelo 5 9

De Roubaix (F) à Renaix/Ronse (étape 1)
Sur le RAVeL du Canal de l'Espierre, de l'Escaut et de la Ligne 83

Après avoir quitté Lille, capitale des Flandres françaises, vous empruntez la voie verte du Canal de Roubaix, qui devient le RAVeL du Canal de l’Espierre lorsque vous entrez sur le territoire de la Wallonie à hauteur de l’écluse de Leers-Nord (Estaimpuis). A cet endroit, vous pouvez vous ressourcer à la Maison du Canal. Ce paisible estaminet vous ouvre ses portes et sa carte de bières régionales dans une ancienne maison éclusière.

Familial
Famille
Longueur (en km)
37 km
De Renaix/Ronse à Grammont/Geraardsbergen (étape 2)
Sur le RAVeL de la Ligne 87 et de la Dendre

Au départ de Renaix/Ronse, ville confinée au sein d'une des régions les plus vallonnées de Flandre, appelée d’ailleurs les Ardennes flamandes, vous empruntez le RAVeL quasiment de bout en bout sur cette étape.

Vous entrez en Wallonie par l’ancienne ligne de chemin de fer n°87 reconvertie en voie verte et vous vous enfoncez dans le « Pays des Collines ».

Expert
Expert
Longueur (en km)
32,5 km
De La Hulpe à Wavre (étape 3)

Vous quittez Bruxelles par le Sud en direction de la Wallonie et des Ardennes. L’ambiance brabançonne avec ses villas typiques se révèle à vos yeux. L’atmosphère urbaine laisse vite place à un environnement plus paisible comme celui de la Forêt de Soignes, du Domaine régional Solvay ou du Parc du Château de La Hulpe.

Expert
Expert
Longueur (en km)
19 km
De Wavre à Namur (étape 4)

Au départ de Wavre, capitale du Brabant wallon, cette étape vous emmène sur les petites routes rurales du plateau hesbignon. Vous vous trouvez au sein du grenier céréalier de notre belle région, dont l'opulence fait alterner cultures de blé et de betteraves. Vous découvrez de vastes campagnes ouvertes au sein desquelles sont nichés de paisibles villages et d’imposantes fermes de caractère.

Intermédiaire
Intermédiaire
Longueur (en km)
51 km
De Namur à Dinant (étape 5)
Sur le RAVeL de Meuse

A la sortie de Namur, l’ambiance relaxante du RAVeL de Meuse se présente à vous. Vous passez par le village de Wépion, terre de la fraise mondialement reconnue. Vous entrez progressivement dans la plus belle section paysagère de la vallée mosane qui vous dévoile de nombreuses falaises et ses sites somptueux comme les célèbres jardins d’Annevoie.

Familial
Famille
Longueur (en km)
27 km
De Dinant à Marche-en-Famenne (étape 6)
Sur les petites routes du Condroz et de la Famenne

De la vallée de la Meuse, le parcours monte en pente douce pendant environ 10 km en longeant la charmante réserve naturelle du fond de Leffe, encaissée entre des parois rocheuses abruptes. En suivant des petites routes tranquilles, vous prenez la direction du plateau du Condroz.

Intermédiaire
Intermédiaire
Longueur (en km)
48 km
De Marche-en-Famenne à La-Roche-en-Ardenne (étape 7)

Vous prenez la direction de Hotton par le RAVeL et vous laissez derrière vous Marche-en-Famenne, dont le dynamise en a fait le centre économique de la Province du Luxembourg. En arrivant à Hotton, petite ville aux attraits touristiques indéniables, vous pouvez vous enfoncer sous terre à la découverte des Grottes classées 2 étoiles au guide Michelin.

Intermédiaire
Intermédiaire
Longueur (en km)
28 km
De La-Roche-en-Ardenne à Bastogne (étape 8)

Un dernier regard vers la mystérieuse La Roche et vous voilà reparti à travers vallées encaissées et collines boisées en direction d'Erneuville et ses vastes plateaux herbeux. Vous empruntez une agréable route en pente douce qui remonte le cours enchanteur du Ry de Bronze. Vous traversez nombre de villages pittoresques portant de doux noms comme Grainchamps, Tresfontaines, Wyompont, Ortheuville, Lavacherie ou encore Amberloup. Tantôt accrochés aux crêtes ardennaises, tantôt logés au fond de la vallée de l’Ourthe occidentale, ces villages vous émerveillent par leurs côtés rustiques et tranquilles.

Intermédiaire
Intermédiaire
Longueur (en km)
46 km
De Bastogne à Martelange (étape 9)
Sur le pré-RAVeL des Lignes 163 et 618

Cette étape vous fait traverser de nombreux villages du Pays de Bastogne et les vallées idylliques de la Strange et de la Sûre, situées en grande partie en zone Natura 2000. Vous empruntez deux sections des anciennes lignes ferroviaires 163 et 618, aménagées en pré-RAVeL, qui reliaient Bastogne à Libramont d’une part, et Bastogne à Martelange, aux portes du Grand-Duché du Luxembourg, d’autre part.

Intermédiaire
Intermédiaire
Longueur (en km)
26 km
frisepicto